On Rabbits And Problems With Society

I love my rabbit Francis, so I’m very disappointed in myself for not Googling “do rabbits like to swim?” before thrusting him into the jaws of…the bathtub.

(blow-drying his belly post-swim to prevent pneumonia, and whatnot)

I had just seen so many cute videos of rabbits swimming on Youtube. It wasn’t until afterwards that I learned that rabbits don’t really like to swim–in fact, they have only adapted to swimming overtime as a survival technique to escape from land predators.

It was only while I was giggling to myself during this video and another, that I scrolled down to see that the videos had more dislikes than you would imagine for such cute scenarios. And then I read the comments….

– “Yes, the dead bunny is just ‘relaxing in your pool…just like that one dead guy was just, ‘relaxing’ in my trunk.”

– “And at this stage its called Rigamortis”

– “Is that why all wild rabbit go extinct evey time it rains?”

– “After seeing the traumatic affect having my rabbit in an inch and a half of water to help wash some sap out of her fur, I can’t imagine how terrified that rabbit is. He wants nothing more than to get out of that water, and yet you keep pulling him back into the water. Shame on you, I’m surprised your rabbit trusts you at all, putting it through something as unnatural as that!”

– “The rabbit is jumping off the float because it wants to get to dry land dipshit, not because it wants to swim. Every animal can swim if they are in danger or panicing as it is a basic survival skill. Also when we got our french lop the vet told us we shouldn’t get him wet as they can’t groom it off properly and it can cause fungas to grow which can be fatal to them, you’re not even supposed to let them out when it’s raining let alone put them in a pool. You’re American right? makes sense.”

(The last comment was probably made by an American)

Now bear with me for a second, because I’m about to go on a tirade.

I’m all about leaving the public responsible for the discipline of those bloggers or youtubers that have their facts completely wrong, because how else would we distinguish intelligent authors from complete hacks in this digital era? It’s easy for anyone to be an author these days (how else would you explain the Hunger Games? Sure, the plot was good, but Suzanne Collins’ prose reminds me of the stuff that was published in my school’s Harbinger periodical. My high school’s Harbinger periodical).

With that said, I have no problem with the letter of the law (freedom of speech) in this case; I think the people who commented on this video to prevent the girl from ever placing her rabbit in a pool again were doing the right thing. They were educated about the situation–she was not…and neither was I with Francis’ situation. I can admit that.

BUT, I think that today’s public solely uses the letter of the law to shield its narcissistic and undisciplined ends to run rampant around the internet. Maybe it’s the generation–which I am a part of, I’m not denying that–and its desire to say the most obscene and defamatory of things whenever and wherever it wants. Because it’s spoiled.

I truly think there is a severe lack of discipline surrounding our culture, and it’s unfortunately too late for some of us to un-develop the selfish behaviors that came about from this kind of enabling.  

The trickiest part about these 21st century mutants is that they are, for the most part, very intelligent. I always find myself reading extremely defamatory and rage-inspired comments on articles that also happen to be well-argued and based on truths.

This is great and all–but do we need to act like infants to get our points across? ESPECIALLY in the case of the Baxter Youtube video: That girl was a CHILD. Did we really need to treat her like an idiot to prove that we know more than her about rabbits? Even if it was to prevent her rabbit from harm…was it absolutely necessary to communicate the message to her in that way? We really don’t know how to communicate, do we?

Either that, or posting under an anonymous or digital persona brings out a certain evil in us, because we think that no one on Youtube or Mashable is really going to seek us out for that jerky comment we left on a video or article. Facebook is a different story because we’re bound to our real-life personas, but most other sites seem to be fair game for scathing remarks. Of course it’s easier to say everything we’ve been thinking about Rihanna’s retreating back to Chris Brown under the cover of “Anonymous.” Face-to-face with Rihanna, though? Absolutely not. We’re a bunch of wusses.

For once in my life, I’m starting to feel like my degree in communication was a good decision…

Anyways, Francis has gotten over bath time real quick–almost as quick as I’ve gotten over this adrenaline-filled rant

Leave a Reply

