Unclog your drain with just baking soda and vinegar

My bathroom sink had been clogged for quite an embarrassing amount of time before I decided it was time to put an end to it’s antics. I shouldn’t have been TOO

mad at it, however; was the one shedding the extra, thick long hair. And letting it fall down the drain? How does that even happen? I don’t wash my hair in the sink.

But anyways, I had done a bit of research and found that my go-to, Drano, can destroy your pipes if you use it too much…well, I need to use it more than once a year! Is that normal? I had no idea, but I naturally dashed to the interwebs and found a cool little home-remedy using just baking soda, vinegar and boiling water. It’s non-invasive too! With that said, I plan on using this process more than once within a 12-month time frame.

 

Here’s what you’ll need:

~1/2 cup of baking soda

~1/2 cup of vinegar

~Boiling water (I used about 5 cups. Make sure to pour it in a thermos so that when you transfer the water from your stove to your sink, you don’t spill on yourself…or someone else)

~Wire or plastic hanger (I’ll explain later)

~Little gladware-like container (a 9 oz or larger)

~Rubber cleaning gloves

**Be sure to wear gloves during this procedure–I didn’t, but I should have because it reduces the risk of the mixture’s heat making contact with the skin**

On to the sink!

If you are dealing with this too, read on. Erm, “look” on. I’m more of a visual person.

1. Measure out a half cup of baking soda and pour into unruly drain

Get it all pushed in there

2. Now pour the half cup of vinegar onto the baking soda, and you will see the mixture begin to fizzle

3. Cover with the container and wait about 15 minutes before moving onto step 4, which is…

5. Pour the boiling water on top–and please be careful. I wouldn’t want to feel responsible for second or third degree burns. kthx

6. I found it a lot better using a long thin object (a broken plastic hanger) to help push the concoction down, although the boiling water does much of the leg-work for you. I was just careful not to push to hard, because I didn’t want to risk damaging any pipes.

As it works its way down, you may see some particles floating around that had built up in your sink overtime. I sure did.

And, voilà! My sink’s cloggage is no longer.

Leave a Reply

