DIY: Cut Your OWN Hair

blog hair cut

STOP. Take a deep breath, and know that I’m not pressuring you to do anything.

If you have a simple, one-length cut, or a bit of angling in the front, you MAY want to cut your own hair if you’re a penny pincher like me. Don’t have a simple cut? Then just keep doing what you do, and leave it to the professionals.

Because my hair is so simple and not riddled with layers, I personally think that good cuts are a rip-off. And even though Great Clips is great if you have an easy ‘do or need your split ends trimmed,  why not do it yourself if you can cut your hair as good as they do–if not better?

My favorite video I’ve seen on DIY haircuts is THIS one.

The CreaClip looks to me like it can save you a lot of time and money in the long haul.

However, I thought I’d put my own spin on this because I unfortunately just don’t have the patience to wait for the CreaClip to come in the mail.

What you’ll need:

~Hair shears (you DON’T want to find an old pair you used for arts and crafts in grade school. Plus, they cost as little as around $5 at Walgreens. So don’t skimp on what matters!)

~Sectioning clips, also cheap at Walgreens

~Fine-toothed comb

~Rubber band, to tie sections of your hair up

Let’s get to work

~First make sure that you dry and straighten your hair, so that you can see you’re true results as you cut. Brush through your hair with the fine toothed comb so that you’re hair will be at it’s true length.

~Then, section off the bottom third of your hair and tie up the rest. You’ll be doing your hair in about three sections, depending upon the thickness of your hair. The more hair you have, the more sections you should divide your hair into–you won’t want to be chopping off thick chunks of your hair at a time, and the more sections you divide up, the thinner the section you’ll have to cut. This is what you want.

~After you have you’re bottom layer sectioned off, divide it through the middle into two parts with your comb. Pull those two parts up to the front on top of your shoulders

~Now take your sectioning clip and slide it down at a SLIGHT angle (the part facing more downwards should be going down towards the middle of your chest) until you get to a length that is longer than the one you’d like to cut. Start small so you can touch up in case of a mistake.

~Then you’ll want to pull the clip outwards (while tightly grasping your hair).

~Take your shears, and snip at a 45 degree angle/upwards so that it looks more like a natural cut. You don’t want to go straight across. Do the same thing on the other side.

~Continue this process for the middle and top section (depending upon your number of sections).

And there you go!

Sure, it’s not as easy as it looks, but it gets easier as you go. The first time I cut my own hair, I stood looking the the mirror with scissors in hand for a good hour before I got going. But I made it happen because I had to catch a train that was coming about 15 minutes after I finished…so that’s a forceful way to do it. I don’t recommend trying that, actually.

Leave a Reply

